Polar Vortex…?

I don’t know if you have been watching the news lately, or maybe you’re experiencing it too, but this winter there has been a phenomenon called a polar vortex.

Sounds like something right out of a science fiction novel right? Wrong! It isn’t.

A polar vortex is actually a gigantic cyclone that is relatively slow moving. The problem is that it’s coming from the poles. In my case, the North Pole. And I don’t know if you remember but I live in Canada so it’s really really cold. All those stereotypes about Canada make me laugh but this my friends is madness.

It’s so cold, I don’t want to go outside. I don’t even want to walk to work or get groceries (I do it anyway).Β To give you an idea on how cold it is, here is what I wore to class today.

(Remember, It’s literally a five minute walk.)

DSC02081

1. fuzzy PJ pants

2. Sweat pants (you need two layers at this point)

3. tank top

4. Sweater

5. Big jacket

6. Huge scarf to cover my face

7. Woolen mittens

8. Ear muffs

9. Winterboots

10. AND I PUT MY HOOD ON

That is 10 individual items to keep me warm. It’s freakin’ cold outside!

So to those of you who think we Canadians exaggerate, we don’t! Look at this picture:

ColdCanadaWinterPhoto taken from: http://www.joe-ks.com/archives_feb2006/ColdCanadaWinter.htm

(Well, maybe this is exaggerating a little…)

Keep warm fellow humans

-Natalie

One thought on “Polar Vortex…?

Have any comments? By all means, let me know!

