Discovery of Witches by Deborah Harkness

discovery-of-witches-475x728It’s been a while since I posted something about a book. It’s probably because I have a lot of school work books to read and just can’t seem to find the time to read my own personal choice of books.

I started this one in the summer, and I won’t lie, I haven’t finished it. It’s been months and I can’t even finish one book! It’s a little sad really… ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

That’s why I decided to put this book aside and try to read something else. Maybe I’ll pick this one up again but I’ve lost all interest because it took me so darn long to read it.

The book is about a woman (Diana) who studies at a University and she comes across a very off book at the library. The catch is that this woman is a witch and the book she discovered was one that was thought to be lost a long time ago. She doesn’t like being a witch so she never uses her powers. She isn’t the only kind of creature though, there are vampires and daemons too. They all want their hands on that magical book Diana found. After a complicated love interest with a vampire, Diana doesn’t know if she should try to find the book again or ignore her witch intuition all together.

It’s really good! I enjoy the plot and the writing style of the author. It’s worth checking out because she did write a second book in the series and I expect there to be a third as well.

I recommend this book to any adult who enjoys fantasy books that are found in the 9-12 section or in the teen section. It’s a book for a more mature audience so don’t let your kids read it. ๐Ÿ™‚

I’ll give it a 7 out of 10… even if I haven’t finished it.

Have any comments? By all means, let me know!

