The Demonologist by Andrew Pyper

demonologist

Heh, this is a little embarrassing. I shouldn’t have waited so long before making a new post. To make a long story short, I moved home and I’m now working full time! Yay me! Just kind of lost track of time and put this blog on the back burner until I had my very disorganized life straightened up a bit.

I’ve read a lot lately. More than I have all year actually. I finished this particular title on my way home from Ottawa with a truck full of stuff and barely any breathing space. The Demonologist was not too bad actually. It’s actually the first ever horror novel that I’ve read, other than zombie novels. It wasn’t too intense or anything but some of the descriptions were good enough to give me the chills.

The book is about a university professor that basically teaches demonology to his students. He goes through texts and other documents that are about demons. A mysterious woman asks him to go on a trip and investigate or try to comprehend something that is happening. It’s a very vague and weird request but everything is paid for and he decides to go as well as bring his little girl.

Well, it turns out there was some creepy poop happening. Like really creepy. One thing led to another and he ends up going on this wild chase across America in search of something the demons have taken from him. I won’t say anything more than that because I wouldn’t want to ruin the story for you but it’s a good read.

I recommend it to any adult who wouldn’t mind a little bit of horror but not enough to give you sleepless nights. A solid 6 out of 10 on my awesomeness list.

Have any comments? By all means, let me know!

