Landing Gear by Kate Pullinger

landing gear kate pullingerI read this book not long after I read Little Bee by Chris Cleave, which probably influenced my opinion a lot. This story is about an immigrant that tries to fly back to his country in the compartment of the landing gear, hence the book’s name: Landing Gear.

The book takes you through many different character’s perspectives and how each character was influenced by this man who happened to fall right out of the landing gear hatch. The woman who found the man had a seemingly normal life but really their life seemed more like a living time bomb. Something was about to go down and when it did, it was going to be big.

The one thing I didn’t particularly like about this book was that the characters were very unrealistic. The way they acted and responded to certain situation was so weird. Almost as if they were too calm about things or they just didn’t feel normal to me. I also didn’t like some of the formatting of the book. At certain points the characters would have thoughts and it would kind of look like this on the page:

***

 

Bertha: I am feeling hungry for a sandwich.

Tom: I wonder if she is thinking about me right now.

                                                        Kate: I should really take a bath.

***

Like what the heck? How am I supposed to enjoy that kind of reading. Note: I added some names so it would be easier for you, the book never put the names so you kind of had to guess who was thinking.

Anyways, enough ranting. I didn’t like this book personally, but I still would recommend it to people who want to read something with a crazy plot.

It’s going to be a 3 out of 10 on my scale. 😦 Kinda wished it would have been better.

 

Have any comments? By all means, let me know!

