Fan Girl by Rainbow Rowell

I didn’t like this book.

Gah, it makes me so mad that I didn’t like it too! I completely fell in love with Rainbow Rowell’s Eleanor and Park which is why I was so excited when Fangirl came out… It’s about a girl, Cath, who is a hardcore fangirl. Cath writes fanfiction for a series of fictional books called Simon Snow that are comparable to the Harry Potter book but with a vampire twist. She takes a writing class in university, develops the cutest relationship with a sweetheart working at Starbucks. I should have loved this book!

The problem was that I didn’t really like the main character at all. I felt like the she responded to situations and acted in other just made me frustrated. Everything about her, to me, felt a little off. Maybe it was because I couldn’t relate to her enough? I don’t have a twin sister and my parents aren’t separated. But surely I can feel something for Cath, right? I’m disappointed in myself for not liking her.

It honestly feels like I’ve let the entire book down because all in all, it was really well written and very unique. It was supposed to be something that I was going to fall in love with too… 😦

The only other explanation I can give as to why I didn’t like the book would be because of a book hangover. A book hangover is something that happens when you read something that is so good, you can’t appreciate anything else you read after it. I had just finished Richard C. Morais’s Hundred Foot Journey which was amazing from start to finish (review will follow eventually). But that is merely an excuse. I just don’t think I liked the main character. That’s it, that’s all.

I give Fangirl a 4 out of 10 on my scale of book awesomeness. 😦

(Please don’t kill me Book Gods)

Have any comments? By all means, let me know!

