The Troop by Nick Cutter

Now this was an interesting find. As I was browsing the multiple books at the bookstore, I just happened to read the back of this one and almost immediately wanted to read it. It wasn’t a very big book so I figured it wouldn’t take me too long to read it. Sure enough, it took me a total of 2 days to read it.

The best part about this book is that it was all set on Prince Edward Island. Like no joke, every place mentioned is in the Maritimes. And if you don’t know what the Maritimes are, it’s P.E.I, New Brunswick, and Nova Scotia.

If you like to read horror stories than The Troop is for you. It’s about a group of scouts and their Scoutmaster that go off on a camping trip. They soon are joined by a very sick looking man who has been infected with these really gross and really big worms. These worms make you hungry, so hungry that you could eat wallpaper or dirt as if it were some kind of delicacy.

Anyone infected with the worms eventually die from it, and the worms can infect people around them just by the touch. It’s really gross and I’m surprised I didn’t gag a few times while reading some of the descriptions. I get shivers just thinking about it.

Seriously though, read this book if you like horror and can handle giant worms exploding from someone’s stomach and and slithering under their skin.

This book has received a 7 out of 10 from yours truly.

Have any comments? By all means, let me know!

