Us by David Nicholls

Us David Nicholls

I’m really bad for keeping up with the must read or must watch things. For instance, I’ve never watched Mean Girls or the Notebook nor have I ever finished a Nicholas Sparks book or even something like My Sister’s Keeper by Jodi Picoult. You wouldn’t believe the amount of people with shocked expressions saying ‘You’ve never watched Mean Girls????’

Anyways, I’ve never watched or read One Day by David Nicholls, so I wasn’t sure what to expect with Us. I received a copy of this book so I could give it a review and here it is:

I truly enjoyed this book. The story is about Douglas’s attempt to patch up his broken family. When his wife tells him she wants to leave him, they all decide to go on a grand tour across Europe. Almost like a big finale to their life together, as well as a perfect opportunity to teach Albie, their son valuable lessons before he sets off to college. After a very unfortunate turn of events, Albie runs away from his parents to pursue his own adventure while Douglas and Connie decide to call it quits and head home. Just as they are about to board the plane, Douglas decides that he needs to do something about his family that is literally falling apart. He decides to go find his son and fix whatever it is that needs fixing between them. He’s not ready to give up on his family.

At first I didn’t understand Douglas and Connie’s relationship, they both had so many flaws but the more I read into the book the more I realized everyone is like that really. You start off by thinking that Douglas never tried hard enough but you quickly start to like him a lot more.

I enjoyed the way the book was written in small tiny chapters so I never felt like it was a chore to keep reading because I knew I just had to flip a page to get to the next chapter. Also, the chapter names were all very unique and sometimes were in the language of where the chapter was taking place. For example, Italian words if they were in Italy.

The only thing that kind of confused me was the jumping between the past and the present between each chapter. But all in all, it was pretty easy to follow. It’s a good light read that is very easy to relate to. This would make a great gift for any regular fiction lover. You like Nicholas Sparks? This book is for you. You like the Rosie Project? This book is for you. It’s very versatile for many different kinds of interests.

I’ll give this book a 8 out of 10!

2 thoughts on “Us by David Nicholls

Have any comments? By all means, let me know!

