Gretel and the Dark by Eliza Granville

This was a little out of my kind of litterature. I usually don’t read stories related to war in any way and to be honest, I probably wouldn’t have picked up this book if I hadn’t been given a copy to read and review. But I didn’t dislike it.

Gretel and the Dark is a relatively dark tale about a little girl’s life and how she sees things in a way that has been very heavily influenced by many stories and fairy tales told to her as a child as well as a side story about this woman who claims she is a machine and not actually a human being. It was an incredibly complicated story to follow but still had a somewhat constant flow that kept readers interested. At first I was like, oh is this a science fiction-y book? I won’t give too much away but the two story plots do interlock in some ways in the end.

While speaking about the ending, I am still a little confused as to how the story finished. I think I understood what happened but I had so many questions that maybe I understood wrong.

Another thing that kind of threw me off was the amount of German words that were casually inserted into the text. In my opinion, I felt like I was always needed to go search up some words online because I don’t know much German and there weren’t always translations. It can kind of throw a reader off when they don’t understand part of a sentence. Maybe it was important and maybe it wasn’t, I’ll never know.

I would probably recommend this for someone who is looking for something quite different and doesn’t mind a relatively dark book. It’s not dark as in scary, but dark as in obscure and unique. It’s not something anyone can pick up and enjoy, it has a very specific audience in my opinion.

I give this book a 6 out of 10.

Have any comments? By all means, let me know!

