I DID IT!

As you may or may not know, for the month of November I had decided to do the NaNoWriMo challenge. Which means you have 30 days to start and finish a book.

At first I thought, yeah I can do this, a little under 2000 words a day and I’ll hit that 50,000 word goal in no time.

Boy was I wrong. I started off the month by getting my wisdom teeth out which wasn’t fun at all so I actually didn’t write anything for the first week and a half. Then I started having doubts and I told myself I should just quit and start next year.

Crazy me though, thought I should jump back into it on the 14th. Hear that people? 2 weeks left to not only start but finish my novel too. I went through the craziest ups and downs of my writing career so far. Almost quitting multiple times. But something deep down was telling me ‘Go Natalie, you can still do this!’

And I did. I finished my book on the 29th at around 4am. It’s just over 50,000 words which was my goal and I’m sure after I edit it, it should be hitting the 70,000 word mark.

The story I wrote is about aliens… I know nothing about aliens. I’ve never read nor watched anything to do with aliens. I don’t know what pushed me into writing something about that but whatever, it worked and I’m proud of it. Also, I never once wrote a plot. I had a general idea but I literally just went with it from start to finish. Which is risky because sometimes when you don’t know where you’re going. You can seriously lose yourself in the story and be much more behind in your writing than you thought you’d be.

All that said and done, I did it! I am a winner! See, here’s the proof:

banner nanowrimo

YAY ME! I couldn’t be more proud of my accomplishement. I cried when I finally hit the ‘Validate my word count’ button.

To all of you out there who did the NaNoWriMo as well and won? CONGRATULATIONS! And to all of you who might not have hit their goal this year? CONGRATULATIONS! You still wrote something which is better than not writing at all. Next year you’ll try again and hopefully hit your ultimate goal!

I’ll be posting more regularly now, thankfully but editing starts in January I think so I’ll have to spend some time on that too.

2 thoughts on “I DID IT!

Have any comments? By all means, let me know!

