The Damned by Andrew Pyper

the damned

I received this book in order to give it an honest review so here it is:

This may or may not come to a shock to some of you but I really don’t normally read horror. Like, at all. It’s just not something that I can handle because I get terrible nightmares or I can’t go to the washroom without freaking myself out. I avoid anything scary at all times, scary youtube videos, scary stories, scary movies.

Thing is, I read a a lot of end of the world stuff. Zombies, apocalypses, that’s my kind of horror. I still gives me nightmares but I like those kind. Last years, I picked up The Demonologist by Andrew Pyper because he was doing a signing close to where I was staying at the time. I thought to myself that it was time to read something new. Try a different section for once.

After reading the Demonologist, which I had enjoyed a lot, I thought it would be sweet to read his new book. I wasn’t really disappointed but this book was a lot creepier than the first. The Damned was terrifying.

It’s about this man who had a twin sister who was murdered by being left to burn alive in an abandoned home. For the rest of his life, he is haunted by his sister because she doesn’t want him to live a happy life. She doesn’t think he deserves something that she’ll never have. I don’t know if it was the descriptions of her but every single time she appeared, I wanted to close the book.

But I continued to read it obviously, because I need to review it…

Here are my thoughts

1. The story was really good. I liked how the main character had had a near death experience, because that’s something that has had a bit more hype these last few years with the book Heaven Is For Real.

2. I found the story to be a bit repetitive compared to the Demonologist. A spirit haunts a human in order to have it figure out a sort of mystery. The main character goes on a wild goose race away from where he lives to end up finding many dead ends… The actions reminded me too much of the Demonologist. I still liked it though, I mean the two story lines were completely different.

3. Anyone who likes horror will like Pyper’s work. I don’t recommend it to people who are easily afraid or disturbed. His sister is creepy as heck!

I’d give this book a 6 out of 10

Have any comments? By all means, let me know!

