The Deep by Nick Cutter

the deep

I received a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review so here it is:

I don’t know why, but after reading The Damned by Andrew Pyper, I thought it would be a good idea to read The Deep by Nick Cutter. Another horror novel. I didn’t even get through this one. Which is why I’m tell you all right now, I’m never reading another horror story ever again. (unless it’s zombie related, or apocalypse related)

The Deep by Nick Cutter was an interesting book. It starts off with Liam, living in a diseased world where this plague has made millions of people forget everything they’ve ever known. It’s like a serious case of amnesia. They walk around aimlessly with no purpose until they die because they eventually forget to eat…

It started off great! I was going to love this book. Until it got to the ocean part. Liam’s brother was part of a team of scientists that were studying some unknown substance in the bottom of the Mariana’s Trench. They believed it would hold the key to curing whatever disease that plagued the earth.

When the base on top of the water loses connection with the team of scientists that are located all the way down the Mariana’s Trench in their own underwater research lab, Liam has to go down and see if his brother is still alive.

I just have this thing about deep water. I can’t take it. I just don’t like to imagine how deep the ocean is. I mean how do we know what actually lives down there? Exactly! We don’t. That’s why it’s so scary. That’s also why I had to stop reading.

The Deep is a psychologically terrifying book. If that’s your kind of thing than great, it’s just really not my thing. I couldn’t finish it and I’m not even ashamed to admit it! If you’re brave enough to read it, then go for it! I’m sure any horror lover could read this, it just proves that I’ve had enough with this horror stuff.

I give this book a 3 out of 10 because I have to stay honest!

Have any comments? By all means, let me know!

