Serena by Ron Rash

serena

The only reason why I wanted to read this was because Jennifer Lawrence plays Serena in the movie that was released in 2014.

The book is about two lovers who own and run a woodcutting business. Set in the year 1929, Serena is determined to have the best company Β and will do whatever it takes to make that happen. But Serena is a different woman. As the story unfolds, she continuously surprises her staff and husband with her impeccable skills and practices. Β From identifying different trees to handling and training an eagle to hunt snakes in the surrounding area, Serena is exactly what you would call a ‘Jack of all Trades’. Just as things seem to be going perfect for Serena, she makes a shocking discovery about her husband which triggers multiple tragedies that throws their lives and company into a downwards spiral. How far will she go to get what she wants?

Personally, I didn’t really like the book. Woodcutting doesn’t spark any kind of interest in me. Serena was a little too cray cray so I didn’t like her. To be quite honest, there weren’t any characters that I liked. I felt bad for her husband but even he wasn’t that good of a person.

I will be seeing the movie eventually though and I bet I’ll like it better than the book because I won’t be sitting there for like 20+ hours. Which is the amount of time it took me to finish reading Serena. Besides, Jennifer Lawrence is a great actor so I can’t wait to watch the movie.

I’ll be giving this book a 4 out of 10 for being very interesting near the end.

One thought on “Serena by Ron Rash

Have any comments? By all means, let me know!

