Gaming Review: Dying Light

Despite my constant gaming, I don’t seem to post many of these anymore so I thought it would be a good idea to jump back into it. Form Mario Kart 8 for Wii U to Miku Hatsune: Project DIVA F 2nd for PS3, I’ve gotten many new games in the past year and would love to share them with all of you.

So to start kick off all these new reviews I have in store, let me present to you Dying Light:

dying light

Developed by Techland and published by Warner Bros and Interactive Entertainment, the game was getting a lot of hype. This game definitely did not disappoint.

Dying Light is a first-person zombie apocalypse survival game. All of it’s content is fictional, including the cities and obviously the zombies.It’s set in a world where a zombie virus has spread through different parts of the world. They have been contained though and it wasn’t possible to save all the survivors who live in those cities. You are sent to the infected area by the military because some kind of blueprint has been stolen and is now somewhere in the area. You don’t know what it is but you know it’s important so you need to meet the local survivors and try to gain their trust in order to track down these stolen documents.

A big part of the beginning of the game are the ‘drops’. Big containers are sent down from planes to the survivors. They contain crucial survival items and even some Antizin which is a drug that suppresses the virus in humans that have been infected. So there’s a lot of running after those containers before the enemy clan gets them first.

I personally love zombie games, regardless of how spooked out I get over them. So when I heard about how realistic this game was going to be, I was nervous that I might get too freaked out to actually play it. (Yes, sometimes I get too scared to play a game, mostly because of nightmares and being home alone a little too often.)

I decided to play this game with a friend because of it’s multiplayer capabilities. and I am somewhat of a chicken, so it helps to play with someone else. Thing is, the game’s prologue has to be played in single player mode. It was okay though, between hyperventilating and pausing the game over and over, I made it through. It’s really not as scary as I make it out to be. It’s just super realistic.

You start off in what’s called ‘The Slums’. The buildings are all worn down and really close together so it really forces you to use the parkour skill which is SUPER useful throughout the game. And for all of you who were wondering, yes the parkour portion is actually really well done and works perfectly fine. Whenever it failed for me was because of my own stupidity. Oh and did I mention that the graphics are beautiful??!!??

dying light mapThose zombies though. It’s a good thing the parkour works because when you start off, they don’t seem as bad but when darkness hits, those things turn into monsters. They’re super easy to avoid during the day because they are slow and don’t really pay too much attention to you unless you’re right in their faces. But let me tell you, when characters in the game warn you that night time is coming, you should seriously get to a safe zoneย because theyย not so easy to avoid at night.

Weapons wise, you start off with melee weapons like crowbars, planks, hammers etc. But they don’t last forever, they can only be used a certain amount of times before you need to repair them. Guns are rare when you start the game but that’s probably a good thing because noise attracts zombies. I love melee weapons regardless so I was quite pleased with just how many were available in the game.

dying light gameplaydying light gameplay 2

The skills you learn throughout the game make it easier to stay out at night but in the beginning, there’s really nothing protecting you out there. Even parkour won’t do any good because there are special infected that will hunt you down. They’re called Volatiles and they’re terrifying. They’ll instantly kill you if you’re a low level.

dying light volatileTry telling me that’s not terrifying… Other special infected show up during the game too but I won’t give everything away because this game is totally worth playing.

We have this game for the PC but it’s also available for the PS4 and Xbox One. It’s also rated M for mature meaning ages 17+. So go to your nearest store, or online, and buy it. Seriously, it’s that good!

Note: If you’re a parent wanting to please your kid, you really have to be aware that’s it’s not always appropriate and it’s pretty terrifying. It says 17+ for a reason. I don’t encourage parents to buy games that aren’t meant for their kids but hey, you know how mature they are, you know what’s best for them. So use your best judgement please. (I kind of wish I could play a mature game without a bunch of little kids in it… But maybe that’s just me.)

One thought on “Gaming Review: Dying Light

Have any comments? By all means, let me know!

