Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard

red queenYou know when someone asks you what your favorite song is, and you never know what to answer because tehre are just so many songs out there that are good in their own ways. Well, I’m like that with books. It’s so hard to pick favorites because there are just so many genres and categories. Although, I this is the first time I can truly say that I have a favorite teen book. Which is kind of a big deal when you’re talking with a book lover.

Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard has to be my favorite teen book that I’ve ever read so far.

The book takes place in a world where there are two kinds of people. The Reds, low class people with red blood who are servants and mere pawns to the Silvers. The Silvers have silver blood, they are from noble or royal families. Each Silver is gifted with an extraordinary power. From mind-reading to fire wielding, there are many different kinds of powers and it’s easy to show the Reds their place in the world. The Reds are the Silvers’ servants, they are forced to go to work and to live in horrible conditions while the Silvers live extraordinary lives full of luxury.

It’s a cruel life for Mare, a Red who, like her brothers before her, will be sent to war when she’s of age. Mare is different though, she isn’t your average Red like you and I. She has a power too! A Red with a power? It’s unheard of, so the Silvers find their own way to deal with Mare.

The book is about loyalty, power and hope. Honestly, if you like anything like Hunger Games, the Selection, Maze Runner, Divergent… you’ll absolutely love this book. It’s so freakin’ amazing! The author’s writing style is on point. It’s clear, direct but not dry so it’s perfect for both readers who are just starting out in teen or those who have been faithful teen readers for years! This will definitely be a book of the year for 2015. I started the book over a month ago and I loved it so much that I just didn’t want to finish it. I don’t think I’ve ever done that with a book either. Have you ever loved a book so much that you didn’t want to finish it?  Gah! It was so perfect!

I could just keep going on and on but I’m sure I’ll spoil something so just go to your nearest bookstore right now and buy it! I’m serious, get out there ASAP. You won’t regret it! I mean just look at that cover. It’s gorgeous! Your bookshelf needs this on it!

10000 out of 10. Because it was that good!

2 thoughts on “Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard

Have any comments? By all means, let me know!

