The Heir by Kiera Cass

the heir

I’ll admit, when I heard this book was coming out, I squealed a little.

The Selection series was fantastic so I had high expectations with this book and definitely wasn’t disappointed with it.

The Heir is set 20 years after The One. America’s daughter will be queen one day and she has to go through a Selection to find herself a husband. Very similar to her mother, Princess Eadlyn isn’t impressed. She is very independent and thinks that no one will be suitable enough to stand next to her while the reigns.

This book was exactly what I wanted it to be. While Maxon went through the whole ‘Bachelor’ type scenario, Eadlyn had the complete opposite, just like the show ‘The Bachelorette’. It was great to meet a bunch of different guys this time. I was worried that the characters would have been a little too overly perfect. Like too handsome and too gentleman like. Thankfully, they weren’t. There were all sorts of different personalities and they weren’t all perfectly chiseled men. Which makes this book easier to relate to, because I always feel bad when young adult novels, especially the ones aimed for young girls, are filled with perfect men that are almost impossible to find in the real world. False expectations are the worst and can really mess with girl’s heads.

I won’t say too much about the story line, in fear of ruining everything, but 20 years have passed and if you remember the first three books, you’ll probably remember that Maxon and America had big plans for the country, so you can only imagine how many changes have been made…

First of all, can I just mention how gorgeous all the covers are? I mean look at that dress! As I’ve mentioned before, I’m a sucker for covers and I harshly judge a book by its cover. Which is bad, and I should probably stop that. Haha.

Second of all, I love how Kiera Cass has grown as an author. Her skills have improved immensely compared to the first book in the series. It’s not often that I notice a huge difference in the writing style of an author but it was very apparent for Kiera Cass, in my opinion. It was a great improvement!

I will give this book a 10 out of 10 because I loved it. Just like all the others. It was great and you should read it!

2 thoughts on “The Heir by Kiera Cass

  1. I still have yet to try The Selection, but hopefully I will soon! The covers of these are so gorgeous, haha. Anyway, great review, I’m glad this didn’t disappoint (some of my friends that picked up didn’t like it as much as the first few)!

Have any comments? By all means, let me know!

