Connected Again!

Believe it or not, I’ve been without internet for 10 days now. And it wasn’t because I wanted to.

I just moved halfway across the country and I realized that it takes time to get settled into a new place. Many things need to get done.

Not only have I been living in a new city with almost absolutely no idea what there is around me, I also ran out of data on my phone, so I couldn’t even look up where I was or find my way home if I strayed too far. So I stuck to the road I knew best. To work and back.

Now that I’m connected, I can finally get on with my life online and offline. (Phone books are great but they aren’t like the good old Googles.)

I missed Youtube the most because that’s what I use to listen to music. Β And of course I missed my large selection of social media apps and websites. But I’m back now and all caught up!

Do you have any idea how hard it is to find an internet company when you don’t have internet?!? The people at Tim Hortons were probably getting annoyed with me. Especially when I started bringing my own food from home and just buying something like a bagel or water.

Also, my apartment is quite bare. I have a loveseat that was gifted to me. One bookshelf full of books (I need two more). One computer desk and a TV that rests on a small bookshelf because who needs an actual TV stand right?

Oh also, I have a coffee table now, which is great because now I can actually have a meal on a hard surface and not just rest my plate on my lap.

The icing on the cake though has to be that I don’t have blinds yet in my living room. So I looked like some sad girl who sits on her couch eating off her lap while sometimes playing Kingdom Hearts and sometimes just staring at a blank screen. I literally felt bad for myself sometimes.

It’s been good though. My job is great and the city is absolutely gorgeous. Plus my landlord is fantastic and I’m so glad to have her around. I am so excited to start this new adventure here!

Here are a few words of wisdom for anyone who is moving or thinks they would like to move.

1. It’s possible to over pack.

I packed things I knew I would use or things I wanted to have around but don’t have many places to put them since I barely have any furniture or shelves to put everything on.

2. Warning: If you own a car, it’ll be a hassle to change over the registration and stuff.

Literally, I’ve been to like 5 different places and every time I think I’m going to get stuff done, they keep adding things I need to do first and blah blah blah.

3. Stay organised!

You’ll get lost with all the different appointments, addresses, phone numbers etc. Keep everything neat and nice in a notebook and you’ll feel so much better. I also recommend making checklists. I don’t know how I would have survived without them.

4. Relax, deep breaths.

You’ll get overwhelmed. You’ll feel scared or alone, but that’s okay. Moving is scary and exciting at the same time and it’s normal to be freaked out a little. Sometimes things won’t go your way.You just need to take a step back, reevaluate what you were doing and take a new plan of action.

5. Don’t be afraid to ask questions.

I ask strangers all the time what their favorite things to do here are. I’ve gotten great recommendations or restaurants, parks, stores etc. Locals know their hometown best, so why not go right to the source?

So yeah, good luck and have a blast!

Have any comments? By all means, let me know!

