Hector and the Search for Happiness by François Lelord

hectorI haven’t done one of these in a long time but trust me, I am still reading. I’m actually trying to read all the books that I own which may be possible if I stop buying books!

Hector and the Search for Happiness has been a book that I had been meaning to read for a long time. It’s a relatively short book that I ended up finishing in no time at all.

It’s about a psychiatrist named Hector, who is going on a worldwide trip to try and determine what the key to happiness is. Throughout his travels, he documents his thoughts and discoveries while meeting new people and discovering what makes them happy. He jots down all the lessons he’s learned.

To be straight honest with you, It was a fairly simple book. I mean sure, he meets interesting people and gets into interesting predicaments but all in all, the story itself was written in a very clear and simple way. But you see, that’s why I like these types of books. You learn a lot from between the lines. It makes you question your life and your surroundings. If you’ve ever read Paulo Coelho’s The Alchemist, you’d understand what I mean by that. These kinds of stories needs to be simple in order to catch on to those hidden meanings. It also helps the messages sink in better when you don’t have to do all this concentrating on the actual story. In my opinion, this book isn’t even about Hector at all. It’s about happiness in general and Hector is just like your own personal guide to it.

I would definitely recommend this book to someone who needs a mood booster or who doesn’t want something too intense. It would also be a great recommendation for those philosophical junkies who just want to question life.

I’ll be giving this book a 8 out of 10.

Have any comments? By all means, let me know!

