The Radley’s by Matt Haig

theradleysI’d been eyeing this book on the shelf for a long time. Seeing as I loved the Humans by Matt Haig I really wanted to try something else to see what it was like. I ended up buying the book on a whim and it took me a long time to finish it due to a busy schedule, oh and Netflix.

The Radleys was good. It’s located in the horror section so I was expecting a little more you know, horror? And that really didn’t happen. Which I am totally fine with. But I liked this book and I wasn’t let down with Matt Haig’s work.

The story is about this modern family that goes about their daily lives in a small town and they try to fit in. As the book starts, you find out that Peter and Helen’s marriage isn’t doing so well. And that their kids are victims of extreme bullying at school. But the real culprit here was blood. They were all vampires and they were abstaining themselves of blood. The worst part? The kids didn’t even know they were vampires. It had been a secret to them until something happens… and I won’t go on and ruin the rest of the story for you guys.

If you’re looking for a real horror story don’t read this, because it wasn’t really that terrifying. Matt Haig is great though, I love the way he writes. His chapters usually aren’t that long and they are always to the point. There is never any baloney in there. You don’t waste your time reading useless information that has no relation to the actual story. His work is clear precise and clever. I love it. I just breeze right through his novels and love every minute of it.

I still think my favorite out of the two isΒ The Humans, but that’s probably because it was so original and unique.

I will be giving this title a 8 out of 10. Still great but not perfect. Everyone seriously go read this guy.

2 thoughts on “The Radley’s by Matt Haig

  1. This book has been on my shelf for what seems like forever but I have just never got round to reading it. And I don’t know if I want to now! Lol. I wanted a vampire horror book but I guess this book is not of that kind. Maybe I should just check out the humans instead? Thanks for writing such a great review though and also I checked out your blog and it is safe to say I love it! (:

    • Thanks, glad you enjoyed it. I took a little break from blogging and such but I’m back in the game! ❀

Have any comments? By all means, let me know!

